Geoscience Diploma: Course Outline

The Greene’s Geoscience Diploma programme is a two-year course that starts at the beginning of September each academic year.  It is modular, with a programme of ongoing assessment.

A wide range of topics are covered:

Greene’s Geoscience Diploma
Year 1
(3 compulsory modules and 1 independent video documentary research project)
Organisms in Context
Earth processes, rocks and mineral formation
Science and the environment
Year 2
(2 compulsory modules, 1 written independent research project & 2 optional modules)
Fossils and environments
Practical techniques & data analysis
Independent research project
Geopolitics of energy & governance
Mineral structure and chemistry
FieldworkFieldwork in the U.K., Azores (Portugal) and Oman is organised through Greene’s Tutorial Colleges in Oxford (U.K.), Lisbon (Portugal) and Muscat (Oman).

Teaching method

Teaching takes the form of a combination of online and face-to-face individual and small group tutorials, seminars and workshops.  In addition, to enable you to observe geological phenomena at first hand and to collect data for analysis and interpretation, the course includes both practical sessions and field trips.

Assessment objectives, learning outcomes and classification

There are 10 assessment criteria which form the basis of student assessment, both formal and informal, during the course.  Each criterion is subdivided into five different learning outcomes or levels of competency on which each student is assessed and from which the final classification of the Diploma is calculated.

Geoscience Diploma - Assessment Criteria
C1: Understanding ProcessesC6: Practical skills
C2: Application of KnowledgeC7: Data analysis
C3: Scientific writingC8: Critical scientific reading
C4: Presentation skillsC9: Independent learning
C5: Fieldwork SkillsC10: Passion and flair
Geoscience Diploma - Final Classification
above 80%
60%- 69%
below 50%
undergraduate level
A* or high A grade (A level equivalent)Low A or high B grade (A level equivalent)Low B or C grade
(A level equivalent)
Below C grade (A level